Saturday, 24 January 2015

Eagles begin 2017 AFCON chase in June

The Super Eagles will seek to qualify for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations starting from June 8-16, 2015, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has confirmed.
The African champions failed to make the 2015 edition currently going on in Equatorial Guinea, after only winning it two years ago in South Africa, but will start their quest to make the next edition starting from June.
“The draws for the groups shall be done on 8 April 2015, in Cairo, immediately after the announcement of the host country of the 2017 edition,” a statement from CAF read in part.
CAF also announced a change in the format of the qualifying series, with the host country participating in the qualifiers from the next edition.
“For the first time, the host country will participate in the qualifying stages; though the matches concerned will not be computed for points, they shall count as friendlies,” the statement also read.
Meanwhile, CAF also announced that the host country for the 2017 edition will be made known during their Ordinary General Assembly in Cairo on April 8.
The Super Eagles failed to qualify from a group that had South Africa, Congo, and Sudan, and have not been defending the title they won in South Africa in 2013 in Equatorial Guinea.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Chi Adz

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Women in sports